pecaspers: a Blog in transition

April 28, 2010

The Obligatory “I Haven’t Posted in a While” Post

Filed under: Baby,Ministry,My Life in General,New Home,Youth Ministry — pecaspers @ 10:01 AM

Yeah.  It’s been a long time since I posted.  But remember, the title of this blog is “a Blog in transition.” Life in transition doesn’t always allow for consistent posting. At least I’m not a missionary in Africa or elsewhere having amazing adventures but refusing to keep my stateside friends in the loop (You know who you are :P).  If I were awesome, I’d go back and see what the last thing I posted was and fill you in on what you missed.  However, I’m pretty sure that if you’re reading this, then you are also keeping tabs on me via facebook or even in real life.

We’re about to move.  About 85% of the stuff from our current home is in boxes and/or in an Extra-Space Storage unit (give them my name, and I’ll split my bonus for recommending you).  We’re movin’ out.  Like the Billy Joel song, not to be confused with “Movin’ on Up” from the Jeffersons.  We are planning to close on Friday.  So there’s a transition for you.

We’re also having a baby.  I think most all of you know about that.  You can read more about it at babycaspers.blogspot.com. Jessica is about three and a half months from popping. It’s a crazy time. So there is another transition for you.

We’re working on an number of…um…things to be done in addition to the things that have always been done at Liberty Baptist Church.  I didn’t say “changes”.  I also didn’t say “I” was the one working on them.  “We” are trying to implement some different (if you’ll permit that word) stuff into the stuff that Liberty does well.  Of course, my ultimate goal is to get the sanctuary painted a flat theater black, hang lighting and speaker racks, sing songs exclusively written in the current year, switch to “small groups” instead of Sunday School, make everybody use The Message, and drive all the gray haired country folk away.  (THAT is, of course, sarcasm.)  Mostly, we’re just working on having more ways to bring people into the life of the church, i.e. additional classes, outreach events, service projects, etc.  So there’s some more transition.

We are about to dive into summer ministry activities.  We’ve got a pool party, VBS (the youth portion I am solely responsible for planning), Student Life Camp @ Orange Beach, the Youth Evangelism Conference in B’ham, and a big UBC (that’s United Between Churches, an area wide interdenominational youth ministry) event toward the start of the next school year.  So there’s a nice long chain of transitions to come.

I’m looking forward to it all.  Mostly, I’m looking forward to having a study in my home.  I’m convinced that having a place set aside for me to put my laptop, a nice chair to sit in, a quiet place where the TV won’t be on unless I want it on,  will help me stay in the habit of writing on here.  It’ll also help with daily prayer and bible study.  No, I’m not saying that having a study makes a person more disciplined.  In fact, I’m saying just the opposite.  I hope, since I’m not disciplined enough, having a dedicated space will keep me from being so easily distracted.  Hey look, something shiny!

What was I saying?  Oh well, this has been a good obligatory “I haven’t posted in a while” post.  Pray (if that’s something you do) that Jessica and I will have a smooth transition to our new home, our new town, and a new pattern of life.

P.S. – If you know anyone looking for a cheap mobile home, I’ve got one I NEED to sell.

P.P.S. – You should totally go to ChristianAudio.com and pick up Jonathan Acuff’s audio version of Stuff Christians Like, and then start reading his blog Stuff Christians Like. It’s delightful.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

