pecaspers: a Blog in transition

January 5, 2011

A Resolution, and a Remark

Filed under: Culture,My Life in General — pecaspers @ 12:13 PM
Tags: ,

I am resolving to post something to my blog at least once a week. Here is “something.”

This post inspired by a Hearitfirst.com “Question of the Day” on facebook:The soap opera “All My Children” premiered on ABC in 1970. Do you have a favorite soap? (We promise not to tell.)

Soap operas have begun dying out. NBC only has one left, CBS still has two, ABC still has three, but Guiding Light and As the World Turns were canned in 2009 and 2010 respectively. The fade out is expected to continue in years to come.

I got sucked into Days of Our Lives for a while when I was a teenager because my older sister watched it. I got into All My Children for a while in college because my TV would only pick up ABC and I wanted something to watch while I ate lunch.

I’m glad to see them go. Soaps were pretty much the lowest form of entertainment our culture had to offer for many years. They played into our base desires for (especially in bored housewives) scandal and sexual fantasies. However, I’m sad that the reason soaps are dying is that we have so many “Real” people to watch throwing their lives away. The American media is making a transition here, but it’s more about switching to a more cost-effective format–unscripted “reality” doesn’t need a staff of writers–than it is about providing a higher-quality content.

What do you think about it?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

