pecaspers: a Blog in transition

October 30, 2012

Prospective Pastor Questionnaire – Part 0

Filed under: Job Hunt,Ministry — pecaspers @ 9:49 AM
Tags: ,

I’ve been seeking a church who’ll have me as their next pastor for some months now. Chances are that you already know that if you are reading this. It’s slow going. I’ll perhaps write more about the ongoing search in a future post. This post is an intro to a series of posts which are responses to a list of questions I’ve receive from a church to which I’ve applied.

Before I address any of the questions, I want to make clear a few things about the way I have answered. First, most of these issues have been dealt with by great men of the faith in thick, well researched, and completely thorough books. I’m making no attempt to cover each topic in exhaustive detail, and I’ll err on the side of simply citing Bible passages with very little commentary where Scripture speaks clearly. Secondly, I can tend to be needlessly wordy. I’ll try to rein that in, so forgive me if I’m overly brief. I know you have many of these to read. Thirdly, humor doesn’t always come across as intended if you have no prior knowledge of the author. If something catches you as off-putting in some way, then please re-read it with a big smile on your face. Thank you for your thoughtful and prayerful consideration.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

