pecaspers: a Blog in transition

October 11, 2013

It’s My Birthday

Filed under: My Life in General — pecaspers @ 1:08 PM
Tags: , , ,

I am thirty-three years old today.

I have a beautiful wife.
I have two beautiful children.
I live in a quirky, little house.
I drive a car that is in great condition, though currently it needs a wash and oil change.
I have have four part-time/occasional jobs that don’t keep all the bills paid.
I have a generous father and father-in-law who cover what my plural jobs don’t.
I have a ministry serving outside my primary calling in a position I am not gifted for with a church I don’t fit though I love the people dearly.
I have about a dozen versions of my résumé to show for a search for a church to pastor which has stretched on for over a year and a half.
I have a heavy burden for the spiritual growth of the students in my youth group.
I have a pain in my shoulder that has improved with chiropractic care but shows little sign of going away completely.
I have a growing endurance for distance running though I haven’t run in over a week because I’m waiting to see if what I think is heat rash goes away.
I have a rash, but you know that now.
I have a shrinking waistline.
I have a bank balance that is holding steady for the first time in a long time.
I have an old phone, but it’s still an iPhone and gets the job done.
I have no idea why I’m typing this on my phone instead of on my laptop.
I have a great selection of graphic t-shirts.
I have a bunch of people posting “Happy Birthday” posts on my Facebook timeline (I almost said wall, do you remember when it was a wall?)
I have a desire to accomplish many things in the next 33 years of my life.
I have a valid passport in desperate need of some stamps.
I have a number of books in need of reading and some in need of rereading.
I have Netflix.
I have a Savior, God, and King who is in control of all that seems so chaotic.
I have a hope in heaven secure.
I have a full cup of coffee.

I have a lot for which to be thankful.

I am.

(…Even the pain, even the rash, even the search, even the unknown.)

Here’s to the next 33 years, perhaps even the next 66!

To God be the glory, great things He has done.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

